nomadid.blogg.se

Best ssd drive for macbook pro 2011
Best ssd drive for macbook pro 2011






best ssd drive for macbook pro 2011
  1. BEST SSD DRIVE FOR MACBOOK PRO 2011 HOW TO
  2. BEST SSD DRIVE FOR MACBOOK PRO 2011 UPGRADE

I also add some foam tape to the sides of the cable as it crosses the optical drive to help protect it from being crushed. On the 15" models I also make sure the midplane plastic clips to support the bottom cover are also on good shape. In fact I place electicans tape where the cable rests. When I service MacBook Pro's when replacing drives, I always replace the HD SATA cable as they tend to wear as they rub along the uppercase. I have a 2012 15" which I use for writing and on the web, it has a 1 TB SSD. I have a 2011 17" which I put in a 2 TB SSD for photo editing on the road. So is it worth upgrading ? I would say Yes! You still have quite a long life in your system (as long as you treat it with TLC). Now the last issue is apps unless you are looking for the next wis-bang app, what you now have is working for you then that's not likely to be a problem either (even the updates) Apple supports their OS's at least five years after a new OS is released, so if you are using High Sierra you've got at least 2024 before you will lose security updates. We don't have any crystal balls on what Apple will do with newer OS's but I wouldn't let that be your driver. So depending on what you're needs are you may need to think this through as well.

best ssd drive for macbook pro 2011

Unlike the MacBook Pro you currently have and depending on the newer MacBook Pro you may be also limited to that Intel graphics engine. The MacBook Air GPU services are quite limited as its using the integrated graphics engine within the Intel CPU unit. So keep that in mind as we go through things here. So if you are considering upgrading to either a MacBook Air or even any of the current MacBook Pro's you'll have to put most of your stuff onto an external drive. You appear to store a lot of stuff on your system currently with a dual drive config. My understanding is to use the 2012 cable, correct? Anyone know if it is sold on iFixit? Or another source? I read in another forum that if I replace the SSD I need to replace the hard drive/IR cable. What is a reasonable speed SSD? I know this is opinion, but I would assume any SSD is faster than what i have now. I am thinking 1TB instead of a 500GB since I am already reaching capacity. I am assuming that part of the variance in prices I see is due to speed and storage capacity. I see some SSD that are 600-700, for only a few hundred dollars more you could buy a brand new MacBook Air. If this is true, what is the opinion on how much to invest in a machine that is aging with technology? My understanding is the next macOS is going to be compatible with my machine, so I think this machine should be good till 2020-2021, is this a bad assumption? Is it worth going to a SSD at this point in the life span of a MacBook Pro? Questions: There are a ton of SSD options There are hybrids SSHD drives, but I am not sure if it is really worth spending the money, so unless someone wants to make a real case for it, I am thinking of just sticking with replacing to a SSD. What I am thinking about with regards to SSD? I have removed all necessary apps from the boot up list.

BEST SSD DRIVE FOR MACBOOK PRO 2011 HOW TO

I have done some clean up to the machine, but any articles or references on how to "clean" the machine, I do welcome.

best ssd drive for macbook pro 2011

  • I just bought a new battery this month, and plane to replace it as I received the replace soon sign a few months ago, now have the replace battery warning.
  • This is just for media storage, photos, movies, music, etc.
  • I have replaced the optical drive with a HDD kit for a 5400 RPM 1.5TB drive.
  • I currently have the original 500G HDD as my boot up disc.
  • I want to make the machine perform quicker. It is just noticeably slower than before as things happen with older laptops, and I am ready to see about addressing it.Īdditionally, it slows down when running multiple applications, so when using resource heavy applications such as Firefox, or League of Legends (game software), I tend to close everything else. It maybe longer, I will need to time it to verify.

    BEST SSD DRIVE FOR MACBOOK PRO 2011 UPGRADE

    So here is my situation: Great MacBook Pro 2011, I love it, and I believe it is one of the better series of machines Apple has produced due to its upgrade ability and longevity.








    Best ssd drive for macbook pro 2011